Clothing Optional


I’m one of the guys that hates shopping… unless it’s in an electronics or board game store. Yet, I currently have a yearning to go clothes shopping. One of those things that most guys would stay very far away from.

When you’re my size, finding a place to get clothes that fit can be kind of challenging. Here’s a test to see how many places in your area would NOT have clothes in my size. Go to google and search “Places that sell clothes in” whatever town you live in. If you live in a big metropolis, take away 2 or 3 from the search results number and that’s your answer. If you’re in a regular sized city, chances are you don’t have to take anything away.

But here is the real kicker, let’s say you live in one of the cities I could shop in. Prices for a shirt in my size will typically run from 35 to 55 dollars to start.

Now you may be saying, “But geek, there are lots of clothes that are that expensive, it’s not uncommon.” This is true, but also consider all the 10 dollar shirts at Wal-Mart.

If you owned 1 pair of pants and 4 shirts and had a small amount of extra money, would you consider hitting Wal-Mart for some clothes? If I could buy 4 shirts with the money I had instead of 1, it would seem like a great deal.

The problem is I have to shop for clothes the same way I have always shopped for cars. I go and see what they have, look at what I’d really like, then look at what is actually within budget. Typically it will be a little too small or not quite a right fit but it’s all they have and will have to do. Cars and clothes, way too much in common for me.

Now there are online sites that have clothes in my size and even some with some discounts. There is still nothing in the way of 10 dollars a shirt unless I go used or get ‘something flawed’ items. One of the best sites is King Size Direct, and their prices are reasonable. Still, a cheap pair of pants will start at 40 dollars. So, I got a 40 dollar pair of pants and a 40 dollar shirt, what am I getting for my money?

Because I went discount, the pants won’t be too great. KSD actually has a large number of returns and people all over the forums complain about the quality. If I were to buy 4 pairs of pants in one year, one of those pairs would still be wearable at the end of the year.

Oh yeah, that’s where I am now. I have one wearable pair of pants that haven’t ripped or torn within a few days of receiving them.

Here’s my dream. I would love the money to go into one of the aforementioned stores and buy some nice clothes. I work at a great company that does allow business casual but I would love to own a couple of suits because I’ve never had nice fitting suits. I would love to put them on and feel like I looked nice. I would love to be able to buy a few pairs of casual pants and some decent shirts and even one SIIBL outfits. If only I had about 500 dollars I could get 4 outfits. Don’t get me started on shoes.

As an aside, if anyone out there makes clothes and occasionally makes big person pants, here is how you make a better big person pant… in the crotch region, where that seam is, rip it apart. Undo that seam, now take a diamond shaped piece of fabric and sew to the aforementioned seam. This would give extra play when big people stretch but also more support in general. If you use my idea I expect appropriate compensation, like sample clothes for a start.

It’s hard enough to feel like you look good in today’s society without just having to wear whatever you have. Making a decent wage you’d think I’d be able to have a nice wardrobe, but not when a basic winter coat starts at 90 dollars. I may want clothes, but there are things my family needs more.

 

15 thoughts on “Clothing Optional

  1. kyred

    I feel your pain on that. I often have to help my son with his wardrobe expenses, even though he is 25 and otherwise manages to pay his own bills and take care of himself. He is 6’2″ and somewhere around 350 pounds. $58 for a single shirt makes me a little nauseous. I could buy myself two full outfits and maybe shoes for that. It even occurs to me that it really sucks to be a big guy (even more than being a big woman). Women, at least, can still get some decent and moderately priced clothing even in larger sizes.

    Reply
    1. Good Geek Ranting Post author

      I agree there is a large difference between big clothes for women and men and there doesn’t seem to be much of a reason for it. Especially when a t-shirt for me can cost 40 to 50 dollars while a full length big dress can cost half that. Maybe I should just start wearing dresses.

      Reply
  2. motherofgeeks

    you two crack me up,,,, however, I have to say that it’s a very bad idea to write nekkid…. a leather seat is NOT a happy place for a bare bottom…..

    Reply
          1. Good Geek Ranting Post author

            I need to go read your posts on getting more followers again cause I could use them. It sucks not having a lot of time to write let alone read blogs but i’m finding new ways to get them out.

You got something to say? Let's hear it!

