Freeeee GET YOUR FREE HERE


So I just want to first say thanks to the support and response to the start of my free book weekend. Yesterday (or tonight as I’m writing this) I was surprised by the number of downloads my book got. Honestly, it’s the number I was HOPING for for the entire weekend.

Again, thanks. This blog has a lot of followers and a lot of you have shown your love. And even more new people are finding it and that’s great. It’s still free, so like and share and download while you can.

As promised, here are more insights to the book.

Where did the idea for walking talking mountain lions come from?

That’s a great question with a long answer, making it ideal (and appropriately timely) for a blog post about the book.

Over the years I have started lots of books. LOTS. You just won’t believe how many I’ve started. But I’ve never finished one until this one. That’s one of the reasons I’m so proud of it, I think.

So, one of these books was a story composed of many smaller stories that were all connected by one event/happening. Think ‘Short Cuts’ or ‘Bug’, if you know those films.

There are a lot of ideas from that book I hold dear to me today. A pizza place called ‘Old and Cold Pizza’ whose tag line was ‘If it’s there in 30 minutes, we’ll be surprised’, or a company that made a product called ‘Sour Mayo’. They had set out to make mayo but couldn’t get it right so they released Sour Mayo, it was great on tacos or sandwiches, but not on potatoes. Something about the potatoes turned it into horrible tasting poison. (As opposed to great tasting poison. That wouldn’t be realistic at all.)

The catalyst for this book and the event that connected everyone was the news story that a group of Mountain Lions had killed a bunch of US Senators who were on a hunting retreat on Mount Deceiving. This caused a bunch of contention since Mountain Lions had learned to walk and talk and were just recently accepted into society.

What are some differences from that story line and the MoLis in the book?

Well, first don’t call them MoLis. That’s rude.

In my original book, the main Lion, Mortimer, was a highly intelligent and very serious person (Lion?). Sounding a lot like Patrick Stewart reading Shakespeare.

In RotD, Mortimer is intelligent, yet that’s hard to tell because he really just likes cutting jokes. He isn’t taking segregation seriously like his original namesake counterpoint did.

Did the original Mortimer and friends really kill the senators?

That is harder to say now than ever. Now that I know the best way to write a book is without assuming you know the ending I can’t say what I would finish if I did it again. Originally, in my head, I knew he was innocent but he was framed.

More racism and segregation contention. Considering how much humor I enjoy it surprises me how easy it is for me to write about such serious subjects. Indeed another book I have ready to go is centered around the same basic principles but instead set in a Sci-Fi world. And it’s nothing I set out to do except that first time. This book was a Fantasy adventure where I tried to set aside almost all typical fantasy cliches. No magic, no elves or dwarves, no single hero, etc.

And I wrote it because my son always had fantastic adventures in his head and I wanted to write something that encapsulated some of what he would talk about for hours on end.

So there you have it, stay tuned for more RotD insights.

You got something to say? Let's hear it!

