Milkies, Wookies, and iPhones… OH MYYYYY


So it’s been a bit since I went on a good geek rant but trust me, there is plenty to rant about. And I’d like to start with something near and dear to my heart, BREASTS!

Recently I learned of a wonderful product available that tests the level of alcohol in a mothers breast milk.

Every time I hear of such a thing I am reminded of one of the greatest comedians of all time, Mr Jerry Seinfeld, who once said the following.

There are many things you can point to as proof that the human is not smart. But my personal favorite would have to be that we needed to invent the helmet. What was happening, apparently, was that we were involved in a lot of activities that were cracking our heads. We chose not to avoid doing those activities but, instead, to come up with some sort of device to help us enjoy our head-cracking lifestyles. And even that didn’t work because not enough people were wearing them so we had to come up with the helmet law. Which is even stupider, the idea behind the helmet law being to preserve a brain whose judgment is so poor, it does not even try to avoid the cracking of the head it’s in.

I love the idea that enough parents couldn’t say, you know, maybe you ARE too drunk to feed our children. I’d like to have indisputable proof, a line in the sand that says this much alcohol is ok but more is OVER THE LINE! And I drink enough to need a test for that.

Next up is, if you haven’t heard, George Lucas sold LucasFilms and all that comes with it to Disney.

If you haven’t figured it out yet, Star Wars is very close to my heart. I’m not a Wars Geek just be a Wars Geek… it reminds me of a lot of the best times of my life. From childhood and dreaming of space battles to teaching a 3 year old the identity of Vader and how to hum the imperial march. (I’m very proud of my sons level of Geek.)

I am on the fence about the sell to Disney and the already overly hyped new trilogy of movies coming out. On the one hand, we get more Wars. On the other hand, we have no clue who will be handling them yet. Who is going to write them? Direct them? What silly cute creatures will be introduced to piss us off this time? I’m at the same time excited and anxious.

One could say Lucas doesn’t want to risk making more Wars with his name on them for fear of ongoing resistance and hatred coming from his fan base. (See “The People vs George Lucas) But the irony is if Disney really messes up the Wars movies we will be even more upset that Lucas sold them off in the first place.

And don’t think that’s it. Disney also now has rights to other icons such as Indiana Jones, LucasArts (video game division of Lucas), and even classics such as Labrnth and Willow, and LucasFilm is, ironically, where Pixar got it’s humble beginnings.

I don’t think it’s an overly bad thing that LucasFilm was bought by Disney, I just hope it’s treated with the Geek Respect it deserves.

Lastly, iPhone 5 is out.

I know you are probably thinking I’m late to the party on this one but on the contrary, no… I’m really not. I work in the cellular industry and got my fill of iPhone news and customers / fanboys when it released. Plus, EVERY TECH BLOGGER was talking about it… really, if I’m a true geek I have to avoid some trends.

I’ll start by saying I’m an Android fan. I’ll follow it up by saying I have owned an iPhone and have nothing against them, they are fine devices. In fact, I applaud and (ThanksTweeting time) thank Steve Jobs and AT&T for their visions of a world in which we could waste time playing games, recording music, movies, photos, uploading blogs, updating social networks, and occasionally making calls from handheld devices.

I don’t, however, see iPhone 5 as the next leap forward in cell phones. I can tell you when the specs came out along with the new features of iOS 6 a number of fellow colleagues and I laughed seeing as how we had enjoyed cell phones with the same features and functionality for over a year.

Apple continues to release phones in a way that it’s devoted followers must buy the newest model to enjoy all the new perks, at least once a year sometimes more, instead of releasing a couple of still well selling differing versions of the phone. I like looking at Android phones because I have choice, if I want a big screen I can have one. If I want a powerful processor I can have one. If I want both I can… If I don’t have as much money but still want a decent new model phone I can have that too.

I don’t think it’s cool that Apple continues to sue phone manufacturers because of similarities such as ‘pinch and zoom’ which is something not only found in cell phones anymore, but touch screens across the board. It makes them come off as bullies who don’t want other people to sell phones and I can tell you a few things for fact.

1. iPhones aren’t going anywhere, there is a place for lots of different kinds of cell phones for a reason.

2. iPhones ARE user friendly which is great when introducing your family to the smart phone revolution.

3. That DOESN’T mean they won’t have issues using it. Everyone needs some amount of training.

4. Androids have their place. There are people who love them for what they are and they also aren’t going anywhere.

5. just like game systems, there are things to like about all types of phones. (Including flip phones which are still more popular than you might believe) What is the best cell phone? The one that is right for you.

I’m sorry, it really comes down to the cult-like following that iPhones have. And it IS cult-like.

It makes me believe iPhones will be on the next Death Star in Wars 7. iPads controlling the Falcon and Wookies working in Apple’s Kashyyyk Factory. LET OUR WOOKIES GO!

Now, lets get on a healthy discussion of the pros and cons of iPhones vs Androids with no one getting bitter that the other side doesn’t like their phones… oh, who am I kidding. Please start blasting the fact that I prefer Androids. 😀

2 thoughts on “Milkies, Wookies, and iPhones… OH MYYYYY

    1. g00dg33kranting Post author

      I prefer the empire so I would think that an step up lol.
      I’m just mainly curious what story they plan on telling. There are already a LOT of books post episode 6. some right after some long after. I guess i’m also disappointed losing vader.

      Reply

You got something to say? Let's hear it!

