ThanksTweeting: Thanks Jon Stewart and more


I could not figure out how to narrow down how many people to thank for this post. Jon Stewart, Comedy Central, a ton of stars, and Katy Perry.

If you didn’t know, the Geek has a son with Aspergers. Aspergers is a form of autism. Not by far the worst form, but not some walk in the park either.

Recently, Comedy Central put on a fund-raiser for Autism. This wasn’t their first, but it’s the first I’ve gotten to see, unfortunately. In the middle of this fund-raiser, among a bunch of awesome yet silly acts to raise money was little Jodi DiPiazza.

Jodi was diagnosed with Autism right before her 2nd birthday and her parents were informed of one of the worst parts of the illness, there is no cure.

They, like so many other parents struggled with coping with her and the affliction she came with. But, like me and so many others they also found this was one of the best things about her.

Much like my son and most autistic children they found she had a talent. My son’s talent is building things with Legos and memorizing lines from Star Wars, Transformers, and Weird Al Songs.

Jodi’s talent? The ability to play anything on the piano by ear from a young age. One of Jodi’s favorite songs? Firework by Katy Perry.

What did Comedy Central do? They got Katy Perry to perform it, not for her, but WITH her.

This is easily one of the most moving things I have ever watched over and over again. As father of an aspie I can feel for every bit of this story. From struggling with autism in the first place, to learning patience in ways most people can’t understand, to watching this girl play on stage and being happy and scared and thrilled and simply amazing.

Forget X-Factor and Idol… This is my new favorite star right here. And my favorite part isn’t even on this clip, it’s after they leave the stage and Jon Stewart comes back out and isn’t choked up for show but because he was genuinely moved. Amazing stuff.

I’m not sure why H. Jon Benjamin is playing her father but watch this and share please. It’s too amazing not to.

10 thoughts on “ThanksTweeting: Thanks Jon Stewart and more

      1. pouringmyartout

        My daughters are very lucky. Jess has had some surgerys… surgeries? for ear problems, and goes to the ER a lot for various things, but overall we are just lucky. I am just moved by anyone with kids who have any sort of health issue. I am sort of empathic and I love kids. I feel my heart break a little… never mind… I can’t even begin to explain it.

        Reply
        1. g00dg33kranting Post author

          Patience and acceptance as a parent comes in all forms. I agree, as my son isn’t at the far end of the autism spectrum or have some seriously all out debilitating can’t do anything condition and am in awe of those who have what would appear to be far better abilities than I do.

          Reply
  1. rldkridel

    As the mother of a child on the spectrum, he has his own, amazing talents, but also many challenges bundled with that. Thanks for the post. It’s good to be reminded sometimes, after the fight to get him out of bed and downstairs for school, the one to get him into the bath, the one to get him out of the bath, the one to get him calmed down enough to go to sleep, etc.

    Reply

You got something to say? Let's hear it!

