The Geek Eats Breakfast


Today I sit and blog to you from a Denny’s in Tulsa, OK. A recent excursion to explore the possibilities of a job outside of where I was currently living has led me into unfamiliar surroundings with eerily familiar and comforting feelings.

Yesterday morning I awoke early yet again. Somewhere around 6 AM (I slept in) and my nerves were growing worse and worse. I started running over my list of things I had to do before I could leave town and head towards my interview slated for 1 PM. Of course I have a ghetto-mobile so I was worried about tires and its overall ability. Don’t get me wrong, it actually runs great, when it does run. But I always buy used tires (Tires are expensive… Its so ironic, don’t buy expensive new rubbers for your car, and you could lose a life… Don’t buy cheap rubbers for the bedroom, and you could create one… I don’t know where I’m going with that, it sounded better in my head…) Anywho, so here I am worried I’m going to have to buy 2 tires for my car, I also find out the 2 pawns I have out are overdue… I can’t lose them as they are items that mean more to me than almost everything. (The closest thing to family air-looms I could have.) so there are more expenses.

Of course I already did not really have enough to make the trip and secure temporary housing for the week as well. Now it was looking worse by the minute.

Overwhelmed as the realization of everything that was happening hit me; from last year losing my family, home, job, friends, to now leaving the town I not only grew up in but also have spent the last 7 or 8 years of my life… some of the most significant times of my life no less. I broke down… Life, it got the best of me yesterday morning.

I paid the pawns and eventually go the nerve to go to one of the used tire places I trust as it could cost me a lot more (job possibly) to not get them changed if they needed it. Miraculously the grease-covered Angel told me all the tires could make the trip. I didn’t owe him anything but I gave him 2 dollars for his time anyway… not for his time, scratch that. For my peace of mind. A small weight lifted.

Then the trip started. It’s not a long trip, just under 2 hours with no stops, but with every mile closer my mind became more and more clear. My soul grew lighter and more optimistic. Even as I went over questions I thought might be asked of me in the interview there was this great calm that came over me. I wasn’t nervous. In fact, I was driving home.

As I got into town, I knew it was true. Whether I get the job or not, this is my new home. It’s so hard to explain, I know no one here… have never spent anytime in the city so I don’t know my way around or what the parts of the city are… And am hundreds of miles from my son. And yet, I knew this was where I was supposed to be.

As I wait now to find the results of my interview I spend the week in transition. What is coming? What will I be doing? Who will I meet? Will I have more friends than normal (1 or less, lol)? Will I meet my future family here? None of it matters… I am calm for now. All the stress of everything that happened in 2011 is melting away.

Life: Next chapter begins in 3…2…1…

25 thoughts on “The Geek Eats Breakfast

  1. booksnob

    BAHAHAHAHA! I had a drawing of Fry signed by Billy West. It was lost in one of our moves, though. 😦

    Are you on your phone? How can you read it when the comments get all narrow?

    Fix it when you can, then if you like you can leave these or delete them. It’s up to you.

    I do really hate that we can’t edit our own comments, but I guess it keeps people from being too dickish.

    Reply
    1. g00dg33kranting Post author

      I would love a signed drawing of Fry… or Bugs… But I think I’d prefer to go even MORE obscure and get one of my fav West Characters signed, Red M&M. Yeah, cause then people would be like, Why do you have a picture of red M&M… and WHO would sign it?

      When I’m replying to comments on my own posts on my phone, i can go to my android app and I see it as a whole reply separate from everything… now if I went to your posts and looked at comments, it can get kinda crazy…

      Reply
    2. g00dg33kranting Post author

      Fixed your comment, though now I find it funny that I can go in and change any comment on my site that someone else has made… I could make you say ANYTHING! … “I’m snobby and I approve this message…”

      That reminds me… is your name Sara? I know like no ones names on these things and we talk so often I feel self concious about it.

      Reply
  2. booksnob

    I have a huge smile on my face reading the last few paragraphs of this. I hope you have found your new home. It seems like this is the beginning of what can become a great new chapter for you (man, could that sound any more cliché?).

    Also, I hate that you’re at Denny’s. It seems stupid, but I really miss Denny’s and Jack in the Box.

    Reply
    1. g00dg33kranting Post author

      So, are you ‘becoming cliche?’… couldn’t resist… it’s some sort of weird blog pun… That what, only like 4 of us even get…

      So, now I’m nervous for all my future writings with this idea that you have some sort of vested emotional interest in my life I don’t want to let you down. So honored yet so nervous.

      And you know, I have enjoyed today at Denny’s quite a bit (Been here for 5+ hours?) despite the fact that I had to pay 5 bucks for 24 hours of internet and have stopped being served since my first waitress got off work. 😦 Wussup widdat?

      And lastly, we do have Jack in the Boxes here, which scares me because I think I have to try the bacon shake, but not sure I’m ready too… I can’t until I have money to waste on something I don’t think I’ll finish.

      Reply
      1. booksnob

        Heh, I’m pretty sure Heather has more regulars than the rest of us combined. 🙂 That’s something to aspire to, anyway.

        Don’t let my hopefulness (weird, since I was just editing a novella called Hopeless) male you feel pressured. Like I said before, I have endless optimism for people I like. Less so for myself.

        I mostly miss Denny’s cos of memories. A lot of my misspent youth was spent in Denny’s after midnight.

        Reply
        1. g00dg33kranting Post author

          Yes, that’s it too. You like me, you really like me. It’s a crazy awesome honor and because of that and cuz you are so awesome a person that I don’t want to let you down. Something to aspire to.

          And you should have lots of optimism. You’re awesome, great hubby, great kids. Total package if you ask me. 😀

          And don’t get me wrong, I know I’m awesome but it’s been hard to convince other people. :p

          Reply
          1. booksnob

            Awww, silly. Don’t worry about letting me down.

            I think we’re about the same age (based on what you’ve said) and one of the hardest things I’ve had to learn is that when I think I’m letting other people down, what I’ve really done is built it all up in my head. With esteem issues (which, let’s face it, most geeks have), you’re much harder on yourself than anyone else (those that are your friends and/or truly love you for who you are) ever will be.

          2. g00dg33kranting Post author

            Now I wish I were on my laptop right now because I sware I had forms something in one of your posts that narrowed your age down to a specific year. Hmmm. Well, if I find it I’ll make sure and write a whole blog post about your age and what an old lady you are. 🙂 don’t worry though, I’ll make sure and create track backs to every one of your posts in it so you get proper credit for my inspiration.

          3. g00dg33kranting Post author

            In a thousand years, I’ll get right on it.
            Oops, sorry. Was channeling billy west line. When I’m back on my laptop I’ll go back and fix it. Then no one well be any the wiser. (he says adding even more comments about the error)

    1. g00dg33kranting Post author

      Yeah… This is the first time something like that has happened to me, other than moving for a promotion. I have RUN from my problems before, but that feels so totally different… I appreciate the well wishes, by the way, thank you.

      Reply

You got something to say? Let's hear it!

